Skip to content
Go to site map

Spring 2022 Black and Gold Leadership Award Ceremony

On Wednesday, April 13, Student Affairs welcomed over 170 guests to celebrate the nominees and recipients of various leadership awards. This year we combined the Student Organization Leadership Awards with the Leadership and Legacy Awards and were able to present numerous awards honoring students work and dedication towards bettering our campus community.

The "Outside the Box" award was presented to the organization, Student Made, for showing tremendous creativity and originality. The "Commitment to Justice" award was awarded to Savinance Thelma Vambe for constantly working toward positive change. The "Unsung Champion" award was awarded to Caroline Porter with Sigma Alpha Iota for being dedicated and putting forth an immense amount of work with many different activities. The "Leaders in Action" award was presented to The Appalachian student newspaper for placing a strong emphasis on not only campus involvement, but also leadership development. The "Rising Star" award recipient was Patrick Edmonston with the Religious Studies Club for showing great potential, through time and commitment, for future leadership within the organization and beyond.

The "Outstanding Academic & Professional Organization" award was awarded to the Recreation Management Association for exemplifying outstanding achievements and development among its peer organizations. The "Outstanding Club Sports Organization" was presented to the Equestrian Team for their ability to provide a place for students to thrive in their social, physical, and mental well-being. The "Outstanding Department Affiliated Organization" award was awarded to INTAPP for exemplifying outstanding achievements and community and campus development. The "Outstanding Multicultural & International Organization" award was presented to the Black Student Association for repeatedly working to not only create a safe space for all black students on campus, but also providing resources and a sense of belonging for students. The "Outstanding Special Interest Organization" award recipient is The Nerd Network for being a club that appeals to the unique and special interests of students.

The "Spirit of Service" award was presented to Meredith Maiken with the ASE Executive Board for being a devoted student serving the community through various community service projects with an unshakable cheerful attitude. The "Outstanding Educational Program" award was awarded to the Japanese Culture Club for their effective educational program: the cherry blossom festival.

The "Community Impact" award recipient was Sigma Alpha Iota for supporting and bettering the local community. The "Appalachian Image" award was presented to the Equestrian Team for demonstrating excellence, purpose, campus life enhancement and membership and leadership development among other things. The "Outstanding Achievement" award recipient was Meredith Ingram with the ACT Team for being an outstanding member within an organization and continuously making a lasting and valuable contribution.

The "Outstanding Organization Advisor" award was presented to Heather Lippard of Sigma Alpha Iota and Erin Sanders of University Recreation's Club Sports Teams for using their leadership and involvement to be strong educational advisors. The "Dr. Jim Street Outstanding Presidential Leadership" award was presented to Abby Farrell from the Exercise Science Club for advancing the mission of their organization, preparing the organization for ongoing success and more. The "Student Organization of the Year" award was awarded to the Appalachian Ambassadors for significantly furthering its contribution to the university and the Boone community.

The "Student Employee of the Year" award was presented to Makalia Ray for showing consistent reliability, quality of work, initiative, and dedication, among others. The "Ronny L. Brooks Leadership" award was presented to Emily Broyles, Yaquelin "Jackie" Perez-Albanil, and Laouratou Boiro for excelling in a specific program or leadership role that have empowered others with a significant impact on their respective organizations.

The "Bobby L. Dunnigan Service" award was presented to Clay Langfeldt, Josie Myers, and Katelyn Goff for distinguishing themselves through the scope and quality of their service during their employment in the Division of Student Affairs. The "Gregory S. Blimling" award was awarded to Alyssa Rodriguez and Emily Nasal for their outstanding service and commitment to Student Affairs while pursuing a graduate degree.

The "Harvey R. Durham Outstanding Freshman Advocate" award was presented to Dr. Ted Zerucha for significantly improving the freshman experience on campus through sustained contributions.

The "W.H. Plemmons Leadership Medallion" award was awarded to Dr. Alex Howard, Laura Buck, and Annie Manges for their time, energy, skills, and commitment to enrich the quality of student life and advance the education of students at Appalachian.

Congratulations to all of our nominees and recipients, and thank you all for attending! 

Jun 17